How Do I Register for a Class?
Our general format is to provide approximately 4 hours of classroom instruction and then testing afterwards. This is completely customizable according to need, except in states where longer time lengths are required.
- Ohio and Florida require 4 hours of solid classroom instruction, not counting breaks or testing.
- North Carolina requires 8 hours of training, with breaks allowed, but not testing.
Regarding the Class Schedule
While there are some exceptions, most classes start at 8:00 a.m. sharp. A mid-morning break is scheduled for 20 minutes. Lunch is on your own from about 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. All day classes have a mid-afternoon break that also lasts for 20 minutes.
Classes that finish by 12:30 p.m. are often given the opportunity to go to lunch and then come back and test. We’ve found almost without exception that attendees prefer to take the test right away then leave and eat lunch on the way home. If you are scheduled for one of these classes, you may want to prepare by bringing a snack. These classes generally run from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m at the latest with testing beginning no later than 12:30 p.m.
Testing time is built into the schedule, regardless of where it is held. Should you finish testing early, you will not have to wait until the listed conclusion time. You will be permitted to leave as soon as you achieve a passing test score.
What Should I Bring?
Every attendee will want to bring:
- A pencil or pen (either is fine), and a pad of paper for taking notes. The meeting property often doesn’t provide these, so it’s best to have some on hand, just in case.
- Absolutely bring a sweater or a light jacket. Regardless of the temperature outside, inside the meeting room will be cool. Please be prepared.
- Bring some lunch money or a snack depending on the time frame listed for class.
- Directions — If you’re not familiar with the class location, print a copy of the directions from the internet from any of a number of popular mapping sites. As you get closer to the selected tanning training site, call the phone number of the hotel as they will be able to guide you in the rest of the way.
Steve Chaney, Tanning Dynamics’ lead instructor, developed our classroom training materials, and spent years refining and updating these materials so that you could have the very best that the industry has to offer.
Changes, Substitutions and Cancellations
Should an Act of God take place where a class has to be canceled by Tanning Dynamics, attendees will be notified as soon as possible. Since 1994 this has yet to happen for any other reason than very low pre-registration (usually less than 10-15 signing up for a class). Heavy rain, sleet, snow, illness and even head on accidents from drunk drivers have failed to prevent us from showing up (we’re not exaggerating about the accident); but we leave open the possibility to sudden hospitalization, car accidents, weather events and unforeseen acts of God. Should Tanning Dynamics cancel an event your payment will automatically be refunded back to your credit card.
Cancellations by attendees need to be made 96 hours (4 days) or more prior to the start of class. If you do need to cancel prior to this deadline (usually by 8:00 a.m. Tuesday for a Saturday class, or 8:00 a.m. Wednesday for a Sunday class, based on the published start time of the class) you may do so without penalty. Cancellations made after this time are subject to the entire registration fee.
Substitutions with or without prior notification are always allowed at any time without any penalty of any kind whatsoever.
Some may find the concept of a cancellation fee to be unreasonable. Please understand that the fee is not a penalty. A significant financial commitment goes into making any training session possible. We have financial commitments with hotels for meeting space that often have cancellation policies 30 to 90 days prior to the event. Other financial commitments such as advertising and mailing expenses, plane fares and other travel arrangements and administrative and labor expenses are all invested long before a class is ever conducted. Aside from our financial commitments to making the class available, our classes often sell out. If you commit to attending and then decide not to show and don’t notify us within a reasonable time frame (at least 96 hours prior to the start of class), we lose a reasonable opportunity to fill the vacant seat. Because of the significant advance, financial, administrative and labor commitments required to make the class available, and because of lost opportunities to fill vacant seats, we require a minimal commitment from attendees of just 96 hours prior to the beginning of class.
How Do I Cancel a Reservation?
Call 1-888-826-7297 or 1-864-467-1967 prior to the cancellation deadline, and let us know of your intent to cancel.
Class Conduct — Ground Rules
Civility and basic classroom etiquette are expected and required. Rude behavior is extremely rare in our classes. Most of these rare occurrences involve open disrespect of the classroom environment or of fellow students. In the rare instance where an attendee’s conduct is disruptive enough to stop the normal flow of training, the attendee may be asked to leave class, and will not be refunded. This conduct will also be reported to the attendee’s supervisor.
Cell phones and other electronic devices should be turned off. If a cell phone must be left on, please set it to the silent mode in advance. If a call does come in, we ask that you step outside before answering the call to minimize the distraction to other attendees. In respect of the academic environment and your fellow attendees, cell phone conversations and text messaging are not allowed in the classroom.
About the Test
It’s common to get nervous about testing. After all Tanning Dynamics maintains a high passing standard of 80%. Most states have a minimum requirement of 50 questions for the test. Depending on your state’s training requirements, the test could have more questions. Regardless of the quantity, the nature of the test is multiple choice, true/false, and mix and match. There are no essay questions.
Since 80% is the passing standard, you will be allowed to miss up to 10 questions on a 50 question test (and of course, you are allowed to miss even more questions on tests that have more questions). If you get 90 percent or higher, your certificate will be noted “with honors.”
Is There Anything I Need to Study Prior to Testing?
Actually, no. Classroom instruction will be so effective and thorough that you won’t need any outside preparation. However, if you would still like to get a sneak peek at the course outline so that you know the general direction we’ll be taking you on class day, we’ve listed it below:
- The Basics of Skin, Skin Typing
- The Basic Effects of Ultraviolet Light
- Potential Risks of Overexposure to Ultraviolet Light
- How to Promote Responsible Tanning
- Secrets of Successful Inspections
- Testing Process — This is your opportunity to see if you’ve absorbed the materials that have been presented. If you’re prone to test panic, don’t worry – your instructor has built test-panic relief assistance into the course so as to help you test a little more confidently.
What Happens if I Fail the Test?
We allow you the opportunity to retake the test. In the past, we considered having students retake the entire test over again, only with a different version. We ultimately decided it made more sense within the context of our industry to have attendees focus on just the questions they missed. How else would we have the opportunity to address and correct those misconceptions that might end up affecting your customers? So if you fail, you will work with just the questions you missed.